Schmidt, Thomas, Prof. Dr.

Prof. Dr.  Thomas Schmidt

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schmidt

Lab. für Physikalische Chemie 

HCI  G 215 

Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10

8093 Zürich


  • phone +41 44 632 22 64 
  • mail
  • vcard V-Card (vcf, 1kb)

Additional information

Course Catalogue

Autumn Semester 2017

Number Unit
529-0499-00L Physical Chemistry 

Curriculum Vitae Prof. T.J. Schmidt

In February 2011, Professor Thomas J. Schmidt became Chair of Electrochemistry at ETH Zurich, combined with the appointment as Head of the Electrochemistry Laboratory at Paul Scherrer Institute in Villigen, Switzerland. Since 2014 Prof. Schmidt is also Director of the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research (SCCER) Heat & Electricity Storage.

He received his University Diploma in Chemistry from the University of Ulm/Germany in 1996 and his PhD in Chemistry from the same University in 2000. That same year he joined the group of P.N. Ross and N.M. Markovic at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory as a Chemist Postdoctoral Fellow. During this period, he intensively studied the fundamentals of electrocatalysis of fuel cell reactions. He continued to work with G.G. Scherer at Paul Scherrer Institut in Villigen/Switzerland on the development of membrane electrode assemblies (MEAs) using radiation-grafted membranes and on oxygen electrocatalysis with oxide containing catalysts. Since fall 2002, he was working in the industrial development of high temperature membrane electrode assemblies and its components (membranes, catalysts, electrodes) using polybenzimidazole based membranes at BASF Fuel Cell GmbH (formerly Pemeas GmbH). During these eight years in industries, Dr. Schmidt led the high-temperature MEA R&D activities as Director R&D and helped to successfully commercialize the BASF Fuel Cell Celtec® MEAs.

In parallel since 2009, he has been working as lecturer for Physical Chemistry at Provadis School of International Management and Technology, University of Applied Sciences in Frankfurt/Germany.

Currently, Prof. Schmidt as Associate Editor of the Journal of the Electrochemcial Society.

In fall 2010, he received the Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award from the Electrochemical Society. He was awarded the Otto-Monsted Visiting Professorship at the Technical University of Denmark (Lyngby) in 2013.



Page URL:
Fri Jun 23 19:18:20 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich